Betty notes: The final countdown approaches, and other notes on lit reviews.

Last week, I visited Trinity University and had the opportunity to share some of my dissertation findings with their Media Audiences class. I talked about Ugly Betty, and how illegal immigration was handled during the first and second seasons of the show. Sadly, ABC will be airing the very last episode on Wednesday.

Here are the slides for the presentation.

I had planned to say a few words on the art and craft of the literature review, but ended up not doing so. Instead, I unearthed a short lit review that I wrote in 2006, when I first began my doctoral program at Ohio University. I did a few minor revisions, and added some lessons I’ve learned in the past four years. Here’s the full document.

Cheers!

Share

